• We want to encourage those of you who ENJOY our site and find it USEFUL to DONATE and UPGRADE your membership from active member to donating or premium membership. If you want to know the differences in membership benefits, please visit THIS PAGE:

https://www.hobby-machinist.com/premium/

Donating memberships start at just $10 per year. These memberships are in fact donations that help pay our costs, and keep our site running!
    Thank you for your donation, God Bless You
  • June Project of the Month (Click "x" at right to dismiss)
[4]

Jet 1236P cleanup?

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

SteelTwister

Swarf
Registered Member
Hi all,
I am essentially a newbie to machining; I worked as a lathe operator in a shop many years ago, but mostly ran an Okuma CNC. I've been wanting to make "round things" for a while now and finally found a Jet 1236P that seems to be in pretty good shape. Got it home and out of the pickup using two tractors and alot of head scratching (a story for another time :distrust:).
Now I would like to clean it up and do whatever maintenance I should to get it in good working order and keep it that way, but I'm not even sure where to start.
Can you guys give me some suggestions or point me to a thread that would help?
I'll post some pics once I take some.
Thanks!

mikey

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Those old Jet lathes were made in Taiwan, I think, and are solid lathes. I almost bought one once but the guy thought it was made of gold and priced it accordingly. How does the lathe run? Any obvious issues?