Restoring (hopefully) my new Smart and Brown SAB

Ben17484

Registered
Registered
Hi All,

Pretty new to the forum. A bit of background on me - I've no background in engineering at all, but I do have a thousands of hours on YouTube watching the machining greats and a positive attitude :)

All joking aside, I owned a Warco 250V lathe (I think an English badged version the same as a Precision Matthews lathe) and a Warco WM18 Mill. I never had a lot of time to do much with them other than play around so I sold them a while ago. I've now got some more time on my hands and liked the idea of restoring an old lathe rather than buying a new one. I like the style of the old lathes and build quality. I would have liked to get a Colchester or Harrison lathe, but they were just too big to fit in my workshop. As access, I only have a single doorway down a small alley way to get to my workshop, so the bigger lathes were out of the question. After searching around for a while I settled on the idea of getting either a Boxford or Smart and Brown lathe (both of which are English built Southbend 9). After some searching, I found one that was being sold buy a retired engineer who used this as his "home lathe" (whilst having much bigger equipment at work). He was demolishing the shed in his garden and needed everything gone. Whatever I didn't take was going to the scrap yard. So I got all of this:

IMG_0268.jpegIMG_0275.jpegIMG_0276.jpegIMG_0280.jpegIMG_0286.jpegIMG_0265.jpegIMG_0267.jpeg

there's a bunch more that I've not photo'd. Not all of this stuff fits my lathe (or I can use on anything), but I wanted to save it from the scrap yard.

This will take me quite a while to restore I'd imagine (I've kids and a job etc that take most of my time), but I'm looking forward to it.

Attachments

• IMG_0271.jpeg
    IMG_0271.jpeg
    951.8 KB · Views: 14
  • IMG_0279.jpeg
    IMG_0279.jpeg
    320.8 KB · Views: 19
  • IMG_0281.jpeg
    IMG_0281.jpeg
    359.2 KB · Views: 21
  • IMG_0287.jpeg