Types Of Lathes

Bill Rosselot

Registered
Registered
I'm just starting out and I would like to know what is the difference between a regular lathe and a gun smith lathe? I have been told they are better, but I have to ask is this true or is it just a preference?
Like I said i'm a greenhorn at this. Looking a buying a Grizzly lathe and mill but not sure which one. Have read the review and looked at the video reviews. I what to buy the right ones only want to spend this kind of money once.

I imagine that "gunsmith lathe" is like "high tension hacksaw," it is a label that is tossed on a machine, sort of like "precision." You know, like the "precision" harbor freight 7" lathe?

You will get a boat load of opinions about the definition of a gun smith lathe, probably the only thing that will all have in common is that you can stuff a 1 1/2" barrel blank down the head stock. The Precision Mathews gunsmith lathe for example has an extremely short head stock so that it is easier to support the back end of the barrel with a spider. Does this make it a better lathe? No, in some cases it might actually make it a worse lathe - but it is probably better for gunsmithing.

I strongly advise that you watch some videos of people doing the kind of work you hope to do, then build a list of things your lathe must have - if they do not have it, it is a deal breaker. For instance, if you are going to be doing any amount of line boring, distance between centers is very important. If you plan on mounting castings and the like to a face plate, then swing is very important. My list said no less than 28" BC, no less than 9" swing, partial gear box, 110v, under 700lbs. The list got very short after that.

In general, bigger is better. Try to go up one size from what you need. But if you plan to do nothing but make HO scale train models, then a small lathe that can be operated from a stool might be a better choice.