WIRING HELP!! on my newly aquired King model KC401-V2F 3 phase 575

mlalonde

Registered
Registered
Hi

I purchased this mill/drill from a guy who didn't have 3 phase and decided he was going to repower it with 220 single phase. I have 3 phase and would love to get this thing wired for 575 3Phase again. I will attach a couple pics. In the one pic there are 7 wires. 6 black and one green. the 6 black are numbered from 1 through 6 and of course the green is ground . So what I need to know is what terminals does the wires numbered 1 through 6 go to??? PLEASE HELP!!Motor wires.jpgmotor swicth wires.jpgmotor cover.jpgswitches.jpgKing_401_KC-401V2F_Mill_Drill_334075_01.jpgMotor plate KC.jpgKC wire=ing route.jpgKC drum switch.jpg

Last edited:
TAKE THE BELOW INFORMATION WITH A GRAIN OF SALT
i have no experience with King equipment or their electrical systems...
i looked but could not find a factory diagram or schematic for your unit

the low speed is run in the delta configuration, the high speed is run in the Wye configuration
most likely the connections will all be made at the motor and brought back to the switches for speed and directional control
that is, unless there are contactors or relays involved with the control system

here is how the control circuit works in most equipment i have encountered....
(this unit may have a less sophisticate control)

the green or green yellow striped wire is connected to ground
a transformer (may) provide control system voltage below 575v-
simply put, the upper green button on the upper left side will supply power to the control circuit indirectly through the normally closed stop switch.
the normally open momentary green power switch would pull in a contactor or relay when the switch is depressed, as well as supply power to both the directional switches
the directional switches would supply power to pull in one of a set of interlocking, reversing contactors (to ensure the motor is not reversed at high speed)