Help needed for TIG torch selection.

Suzuki4evr

Registered
Registered
I recently did a job for a client and we agreed on a argon tank and regulator as payment so now I need a torch with hose and accessories . I am completely new to TIG welding, because the last time I touched a torch was way back in 1996.....now I feel old. I just starting doing some research about torches and picking the right one is sort of a job on its own. I am not going to bore you with everything I saw and read about,but so far the most common one seems to be the air cooled #17 Flex torch with valve. But I would value the members input on this. I have a 200Amp DC inverter welder. I mostly intend to weld mild steel and maybe sometimes stainless steel.

Thanks for any input
Michael

Which torch you buy will determine your maximum amperage. Beyond that, you can set up electrodes covering a few sizes, electrode compositions covering multiple materials and processes, and cups and consumables covering a wide heat range and gas flow requirements. The other part is air vs. water cooled. I'm not going to push you into a water cooled system, because until the work gets really heavy it doesn't make much difference. You just need the one that matches your welder.

What I'm saying is a TIG torch is totally modular once it's sized right for the machine (literally small, medium, or large). So buy one torch and good assortment of consumables (they come in assortment packs too) and swap out tungsten composition and size for your work and base metal. Gas lenses or gas cups are selected as the work calls for it (get about 6 sizes in your range). I have my favorite brands, but what matters most is being able to get parts for your torch locally. You don't want to wait for international shipping if you buy a torch that is not supported by any welding supply near you.