Positioning Pm932 And Pm1236

65Cobra427SC

Registered
Registered
My PM932 is in the crate waiting for me to finish a couple things in the room where it and the PM1236 will go. And my PM1236 hasn't arrived yet... plus I've never used a mill or lathe before... so I could (really) use some help on how to position them along the same wall. I attached a drawing showing dimensions of the wall and how I initially intended to place them. But now that I finished the drawing, I'm having second thoughts and could use some advice.

One issue is how the ceiling drops towards the left side of the wall. Not that the PM932 won't fit under the dropped ceiling, but there would only be 1" of clearance... and that's assuming everything is perfect so I decided not to chance it. So I updated the drawing to show it just to the right of the dropped ceiling and now think I should swap their positions.

I can do anything at this point but could use some opinions. For example, since the table on the mill moves towards the left/right, I'm not sure how much clearance I need between it and a wall... or the lathe. Also with the lathe on the left, even though there is more than enough room under the dropped ceiling I can't put it too close to the left corner so I can feed metal though the bore.

I'd switch sides. There may be times when you need to run a long tube or rod through the spindle bore of the lathe.
I've also found that there are times when I want to stand on the right side of my mill to see what I'm cutting.

Thanks Franko. I was leaning in that direction and that makes sense.

For anyone with a PM932 mill, I don't know how much work space I'll need to the left and right of the mill. Could someone please give me the measurement from the center of the mill... i.e. center of stand or crossfeed handle? Once I have this, I can plot exactly where the machines will go which will tell me where to install the electrical outlets. Thanks.