Shop Heat

ddickey

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Wondering if there is anyone here with experience using on of these for an infloor heat source. https://www.amazon.com/EcoSmart-ECO-11-Modulating-Technology/dp/B001LZRF9M/ref=sr_1_1?crid=3J9PUKWAXI0BN&dchild=1&keywords=tankless+water+heater+electric&qid=1602668695&refinements=p_89:EcoSmart&rnid=2528832011&sprefix=tankless+,aps,292&sr=8-1It would mean running 250 kcmil (for 200amp) to the shop subpanel. Would initially save ~ $1000 in cost over one of these. https://www.ebay.com/itm/Takagi-T-H...-0-90-UEF-Gas-Tankless-Water-Hea/372562164523
Opinions are appreciated.

With that heavy wiring i bet costs are about the saem. Right now gas is far cheaper than electric.

I have no experience with tank less water heaters. We have a wood/oil combination boiler.
Will these regulate the water temperature to a low enough temp to walk on. Otherwise a mixing valve will be needed.
It takes a lot of BTU,s to maintain heat in water. The water heat would need to be on consistently. Imagine trying to keep 40 gallons of water, warm on your stove 7 days a week thru the winter. Once its up to temperature it is a lot easier to maintain but not cheap to run.
Not trying to discourage you. Its a great heat and the shop will always be warm. But .......
Cheers
Martin

I have seen this done with a conventional water heater. He installed a 40 gallon tank with a circulating pump that was controlled with a thermostat. It worked great in OHIO winters. The floor was always warm. I can't remember if it was gas or electric.

Every floor in my house is heated with electric floor heat as a supplement to our heat pump (Natural gas is not available in our neighborhood). I have used 2 different electric floor heat technologies depending on the type of floor.

Electric cable heat:
Over 10 years ago during my kitchen renovation I added this electric cable heat system to my kitchen floor.